Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches of Vlieland are never the same width because of the tides. For example, if you take a relaxing walk on the beach, it is useful to know when it is high or low tide.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Vlieland haven for the two following months.

November 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Monday 18 November
6:21 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
12:16 hrs
76 cm
 
 
18:31 hrs
 
-80 cm
Tuesday 19 November
0:30 hrs
96 cm
 
 
7:06 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
13:05 hrs
67 cm
 
 
19:25 hrs
 
-72 cm
Wednesday 20 November
1:36 hrs
93 cm
 
 
8:06 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
14:10 hrs
61 cm
 
 
20:26 hrs
 
-66 cm
Thursday 21 November
2:46 hrs
93 cm
 
 
9:15 hrs
 
-76 cm
 
15:30 hrs
60 cm
 
 
21:35 hrs
 
-65 cm
Friday 22 November
4:00 hrs
97 cm
 
 
10:36 hrs
 
-82 cm
 
16:51 hrs
67 cm
 
 
22:56 hrs
 
-72 cm
Saturday 23 November
5:05 hrs
105 cm
 
 
11:46 hrs
 
-91 cm
 
18:02 hrs
76 cm
 
Sunday 24 November
0:06 hrs
 
-82 cm
 
6:15 hrs
111 cm
 
 
12:50 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
19:01 hrs
85 cm
 
Monday 25 November
1:16 hrs
 
-91 cm
 
7:16 hrs
114 cm
 
 
13:46 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
19:56 hrs
91 cm
 
Tuesday 26 November
2:06 hrs
 
-100 cm
 
8:05 hrs
113 cm
 
 
14:39 hrs
 
-104 cm
 
20:46 hrs
96 cm
 
Wednesday 27 November
2:59 hrs
 
-105 cm
 
9:03 hrs
109 cm
 
 
15:22 hrs
 
-103 cm
 
21:26 hrs
101 cm
 
Thursday 28 November
3:45 hrs
 
-107 cm
 
9:44 hrs
104 cm
 
 
16:03 hrs
 
-101 cm
 
22:06 hrs
105 cm
 
Friday 29 November
4:26 hrs
 
-107 cm
 
10:25 hrs
96 cm
 
 
16:45 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
22:35 hrs
107 cm
 
Saturday 30 November
5:07 hrs
 
-101 cm
 
11:05 hrs
87 cm
 
 
17:15 hrs
 
-93 cm
 
23:15 hrs
107 cm
 

December 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Sunday 1 December
5:40 hrs
 
-94 cm
 
11:46 hrs
76 cm
 
 
17:46 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
23:55 hrs
103 cm
 
Monday 2 December
6:21 hrs
 
-84 cm
 
12:15 hrs
66 cm
 
 
18:25 hrs
 
-81 cm
Tuesday 3 December
0:35 hrs
97 cm
 
 
6:56 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
12:50 hrs
57 cm
 
 
18:56 hrs
 
-74 cm
Wednesday 4 December
1:20 hrs
91 cm
 
 
7:35 hrs
 
-64 cm
 
13:39 hrs
50 cm
 
 
19:35 hrs
 
-66 cm
Thursday 5 December
2:04 hrs
85 cm
 
 
8:35 hrs
 
-57 cm
 
14:39 hrs
47 cm
 
 
20:35 hrs
 
-59 cm
Friday 6 December
3:10 hrs
82 cm
 
 
9:39 hrs
 
-55 cm
 
15:36 hrs
49 cm
 
 
21:30 hrs
 
-55 cm
Saturday 7 December
4:19 hrs
83 cm
 
 
10:55 hrs
 
-62 cm
 
17:03 hrs
57 cm
 
 
23:18 hrs
 
-60 cm
Sunday 8 December
5:25 hrs
89 cm
 
 
11:56 hrs
 
-72 cm
 
17:55 hrs
69 cm
 
Monday 9 December
0:15 hrs
 
-70 cm
 
6:26 hrs
96 cm
 
 
12:46 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
18:55 hrs
81 cm
 
Tuesday 10 December
1:06 hrs
 
-80 cm
 
7:16 hrs
101 cm
 
 
13:30 hrs
 
-92 cm
 
19:46 hrs
90 cm
 
Wednesday 11 December
1:56 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
7:55 hrs
104 cm
 
 
14:16 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
20:26 hrs
97 cm
 
Thursday 12 December
2:41 hrs
 
-95 cm
 
8:40 hrs
104 cm
 
 
15:01 hrs
 
-100 cm
 
21:06 hrs
101 cm
 
Friday 13 December
3:27 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
9:24 hrs
101 cm
 
 
15:45 hrs
 
-100 cm
 
21:46 hrs
103 cm
 
Saturday 14 December
4:08 hrs
 
-101 cm
 
10:04 hrs
96 cm
 
 
16:21 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
22:26 hrs
104 cm
 
Sunday 15 December
4:46 hrs
 
-101 cm
 
10:46 hrs
89 cm
 
 
17:01 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
22:55 hrs
105 cm
 
Monday 16 December
5:35 hrs
 
-100 cm
 
11:25 hrs
82 cm
 
 
17:46 hrs
 
-94 cm
 
23:46 hrs
105 cm
 
Tuesday 17 December
6:18 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
12:10 hrs
75 cm
 
 
18:26 hrs
 
-91 cm
Wednesday 18 December
0:25 hrs
105 cm
 
 
7:05 hrs
 
-94 cm
 
13:05 hrs
68 cm
 
 
19:19 hrs
 
-87 cm
Thursday 19 December
1:26 hrs
103 cm
 
 
8:01 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
14:00 hrs
63 cm
 
 
20:11 hrs
 
-82 cm
Friday 20 December
2:20 hrs
101 cm
 
 
9:00 hrs
 
-86 cm
 
15:10 hrs
61 cm
 
 
21:16 hrs
 
-78 cm
Saturday 21 December
3:24 hrs
99 cm
 
 
10:06 hrs
 
-85 cm
 
16:15 hrs
63 cm
 
 
22:26 hrs
 
-78 cm
Sunday 22 December
4:45 hrs
99 cm
 
 
11:16 hrs
 
-87 cm
 
17:25 hrs
69 cm
 
 
23:41 hrs
 
-83 cm
Monday 23 December
5:45 hrs
100 cm
 
 
12:20 hrs
 
-91 cm
 
18:35 hrs
77 cm
 
Tuesday 24 December
0:46 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
6:56 hrs
101 cm
 
 
13:26 hrs
 
-94 cm
 
19:30 hrs
87 cm
 
Wednesday 25 December
1:49 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
7:54 hrs
100 cm
 
 
14:17 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
20:26 hrs
95 cm
 
Thursday 26 December
2:45 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
8:46 hrs
97 cm
 
 
15:05 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
21:15 hrs
101 cm
 
Friday 27 December
3:29 hrs
 
-105 cm
 
9:33 hrs
92 cm
 
 
15:46 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
21:45 hrs
106 cm
 
Saturday 28 December
4:12 hrs
 
-104 cm
 
10:05 hrs
86 cm
 
 
16:25 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
22:26 hrs
109 cm
 
Sunday 29 December
4:51 hrs
 
-101 cm
 
10:40 hrs
80 cm
 
 
16:55 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
23:03 hrs
109 cm
 
Monday 30 December
5:26 hrs
 
-95 cm
 
11:22 hrs
73 cm
 
 
17:26 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
23:36 hrs
107 cm
 
Tuesday 31 December
5:56 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
11:50 hrs
67 cm
 
 
18:05 hrs
 
-94 cm

January 2020

 
 
HW
LW
Wednesday 1 January
0:10 hrs
101 cm
 
 
6:30 hrs
 
-81 cm
 
12:25 hrs
59 cm
 
 
18:35 hrs
 
-88 cm
Thursday 2 January
0:52 hrs
94 cm
 
 
7:05 hrs
 
-74 cm
 
12:54 hrs
55 cm
 
 
19:10 hrs
 
-83 cm
Friday 3 January
1:25 hrs
88 cm
 
 
7:45 hrs
 
-69 cm
 
13:42 hrs
52 cm
 
 
19:45 hrs
 
-77 cm
Saturday 4 January
2:09 hrs
82 cm
 
 
8:24 hrs
 
-65 cm
 
14:21 hrs
50 cm
 
 
20:35 hrs
 
-71 cm
Sunday 5 January
3:09 hrs
78 cm
 
 
9:24 hrs
 
-64 cm
 
15:38 hrs
52 cm
 
 
21:39 hrs
 
-66 cm
Monday 6 January
4:14 hrs
78 cm
 
 
10:50 hrs
 
-67 cm
 
17:03 hrs
59 cm
 
 
23:09 hrs
 
-67 cm
Tuesday 7 January
5:35 hrs
82 cm
 
 
11:55 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
18:05 hrs
71 cm
 
Wednesday 8 January
0:15 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
6:36 hrs
89 cm
 
 
12:56 hrs
 
-87 cm
 
19:05 hrs
83 cm
 
Thursday 9 January
1:20 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
7:25 hrs
94 cm
 
 
13:46 hrs
 
-95 cm
 
19:55 hrs
93 cm
 
Friday 10 January
2:16 hrs
 
-96 cm
 
8:20 hrs
96 cm
 
 
14:36 hrs
 
-100 cm
 
20:46 hrs
100 cm
 
Saturday 11 January
3:06 hrs
 
-103 cm
 
9:06 hrs
94 cm
 
 
15:26 hrs
 
-103 cm
 
21:35 hrs
104 cm
 
Sunday 12 January
3:56 hrs
 
-108 cm
 
9:56 hrs
90 cm
 
 
16:06 hrs
 
-105 cm
 
22:15 hrs
108 cm
 
Monday 13 January
4:41 hrs
 
-112 cm
 
10:34 hrs
85 cm
 
 
16:56 hrs
 
-107 cm
 
22:56 hrs
111 cm
 
Tuesday 14 January
5:28 hrs
 
-114 cm
 
11:26 hrs
80 cm
 
 
17:39 hrs
 
-109 cm
 
23:45 hrs
112 cm
 
Wednesday 15 January
6:10 hrs
 
-113 cm
 
12:05 hrs
75 cm
 
 
18:21 hrs
 
-109 cm
Thursday 16 January
0:20 hrs
112 cm
 
 
6:56 hrs
 
-109 cm
 
12:55 hrs
69 cm
 
 
19:05 hrs
 
-106 cm
Friday 17 January
1:10 hrs
108 cm
 
 
7:46 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
13:45 hrs
64 cm
 
 
19:55 hrs
 
-100 cm
Saturday 18 January
2:06 hrs
101 cm
 
 
8:35 hrs
 
-93 cm
 
14:35 hrs
60 cm
 
 
20:46 hrs
 
-92 cm
Sunday 19 January
2:55 hrs
93 cm
 
 
9:35 hrs
 
-85 cm
 
15:39 hrs
58 cm
 
 
21:50 hrs
 
-86 cm
Monday 20 January
4:10 hrs
87 cm
 
 
10:35 hrs
 
-81 cm
 
16:50 hrs
61 cm
 
 
23:06 hrs
 
-84 cm

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide (HW) is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide (LW) in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Disclaimer

faqThis tidal information is only intended for recreational purposes, such as hiking and beach recreation. No guarantees are made about the correctness of this free tides data. You may not use this page if anyone or anything could come to harm as a result of using it (e.g. for navigational purposes).

Ebb and flow

Getijden

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Oosterschelde or Waddenzee, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go mudhiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.